Good artists copy, great artists steal, designers reference.

Recently I had to create a single image that represented myself. I searched through all my old works but nothing I had, I felt, actually represented myself in my current creative state. I left that job for another day and went about my daily business of design. Fast forward a few days and I’m doing research on designers/groups that influence me. One of those groups is RINZEN who are an amazing design group based out of Australia. Their work is phenomenal and strikes a chord with my own work. Whilst researching them I came across a cover for XLR8R magazine with an amazing cover on it. XLR8R cover #113

As you can see it’s a pretty amazing cover and felt this would be an excellent choice for my image to represent me. I was going to use the original image for several days when I thought, what if I actually do an interpretation of it myself. After all, my style is not too different and I really wanted to add a personal touch. So I did my own version of it, using my face as a the base.

XHR1S

At the time I was happy with the piece, but now after the presentation and a week later I’m not so keen on it. Did I copy? Did I steal? All I know is that I did reference, but does that make it OK? I’m honestly not sure. I think I’m just going to throw this into the experience file and not bring it back out.

I suppose the biggest question I have is, how can anyone be happy with their work if the steal or copy? I know I’m not happy with this piece and I don’t consider it copied or stolen, it merely references. Heavily.

About Chris

erm...I must put stuff here!

Posted on April 23, 2008, in Design, Design Communication, My Work, steal or reference. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

