Alex Kubalsky interview

PingMag are currently hosting an interview with Australian designer Alex Kubalsky. This interview is extremely interesting for anybody wanting to break into the design field. Alex seems like a really down to earth kind of guy and shows that inspiration can come from anywhere, even Mary Poppins.

Check it out here

Chris.

About Chris

erm...I must put stuff here!

Posted on July 22, 2007, in Design. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Dear Alex Kubalsky,

    My name is JR Turner, and I take Independent Research class at Hammond High School. We research information regarding the career we want in the future. My area of research is on toy designing. I want to grow up to become a toy designer and make toys for a living like that Mirage figure you made. I am a big Transformers fan and I want to know the process involved in making Transformer action figures. So far, all I am able to do is make improvisions to the figures I have. While my improvisions are impressive, I need a more experienced expert like you to teach me how to make figures from scratch or learn how you do it at Hasbro. For this research class, I need an advisor to teach me how plastic toys are developed. I especially want to know how Hasbro is able to mold hard plastic into the amazing morphing warriors known as Transformers. I hope you will consider being my advisor so I have an expert to help me with my current ideas.
    Thanks for your consideration.
    JR Turner
    Hammond High School
    Columbia, MD 21046

    • Hi JR, unfortunately this blog isn’t run by Alex Kubalsky and is not officially associated with him in any way. He does amazing work but I’m afraid I’m a communication designer so don’t really know too much about what he does. I posted the link to the interview because, I too am a huge Transformers fan and love design in its various aspects.

      What I believe you need to look into is product design. Here is an example, maybe your closest college can give some insight and possibly even give you a tour and help. I know the college I went to was very accommodating to people who were interested in its programs.

      I hope this helps,

      Chris Holmes.

  2. Dear Alex Kubalsky,

    My name is JR Turner, and I take Independent Research class at Hammond High School. In this class, we research information regarding the career we want in the future. My area of research is on toy design. I want to grow up to become a toy designer and make toys for a living like that Mirage figure you made. I am a big Transformers fan and I want to know the process involved in making Transformer action figures. So far, all I am able to do is make improvisions to the figures I have. While my improvisions are impressive, I need a more experienced expert like you to teach me how to make figures from scratch or learn how you do it at Hasbro. For this research class, I need an advisor to teach me how plastic toys are developed. I especially want to know how Hasbro is able to mold hard plastic into the amazing morphing warriors known as Transformers. As well, the role of my advisor is to help me when I hit some obstacles in my research. I would also need to conduct an interview for my paper. I hope you will consider being my advisor so I have an expert to help me with my current ideas.
    Thanks for your consideration.
    JR Turner
    Hammond High School
    Columbia, MD 21046

Leave a Reply

